Get a Grip on Life!

We have all been there… Things aren’t going so great on the job or the kids just don’t seem to listen or maybe you just can’t seem to get it right in your love life. And to put the icing on top,  the car has broken down or an unexpected bill has popped up! Trust me, you are not alone!

Life can be overwhelming and it can really take its toll on your overall attitude. Like I’ve said before, you attitude determines your altitude. However, your attitude is determined by your gratitude. I love to rhyme, can’t you tell?! ☺

We may not have control over what life throws our way, but we have complete control over how we respond to it. When life gets you down, there are a few things you can do to get yourself out of that rut and completely take control of your life again!  

FullSizeRender-4
Me at our local lake!!

Find a happy place. This can be a physical place or a mental state of mind but find it and get there!! ASAP! For me, I absolutely love water, it soothes my soul. Sooo my happy place is our local lake. It’s gorgeous, quiet, I can sit on the pier which is right on the water. This is where I go to clear my head, pray, escape, and calm down. It truly helps when I have to face overwhelming life problems



If you don’t have a happy place, you can create one. Find a place in your home, it may be your closet, guest bedroom, wherever you can go to shut yourself away. Put up affirmations, happy pictures, and things that you absolutely love, no matter how crazy it may seem to anyone else.

FullSizeRender-3

Find that thing that makes you happy We all have at least one thing that is tangible, inexpensive, and doesn’t cause more chaos. I love Starbucks (coffee in general) and my happy thing is a beautiful cup of my favorite coffee. The mere smell of coffee relaxes me! Coffee is especially my go to when I wake up “on the wrong side of the bed”, it helps me relax after my prayer and perks me back up again.

Keep your mind focus on happy thoughts Put a positive quote as the background of your phone, so that you look at it often. Place a positive post it note on your desk or in your car, or really all over. I would write a positive affirmation to myself on my full length mirror [because I always look there *mirror check* lol] and it really helped me remind myself of my worth and how blessed I am.

IMG_0254

 

Remove negative people, things, and ideas. Nothing’s worse than dealing with a lot and having unwanted negative energy in your atmosphere. This can be as simple as a negative TV show to a negative friend. Either way, LET IT GO! Life is hard enough without having outside factors adding weight on to you. This may be a hard step, I get it, but it is totally necessary with taking control of your life. You have complete say so over who and what you have around you.

 

 

Dealing with the pressures of this world is not easy, but you can totally begin to take control of your life by focusing on what you can control and making the most out of that!

Let me know if any of these steps helped you!! ☺  

 

Leave a Reply

